The 2020 Media and Journalism Days in Africa : the Selection

photo groupe J1 Palais des Nations

The journalists selected for the 2020 edition of the MJDA are :

  • Mr Corbin August, South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), South Africa
  • Ms Asmaa Botmi-Clarke, freelance at VOA Africa and AFP, South Africa
  • Ms Sharon Tshipa, freelance at BBC Future Planet, Deutsche Welle Africalink Radio, Greenpeace International, Xinhua News Agency, SOPA Images, Botswana Guardian, Mmegi, Botswana
  • Ms, Marwa tawfik, Al Ahram, Egypt
  • Ms Mantoe phakathi, freelance at  Inter Press Service News and Mongabay News, Eswatini
  • Ms Eden Berhane, Ethiopian Broadcasting Service, Ethiopia
  • Mr Ayele Addis Ambelu, Africa News Channel, Ethiopia
  • Mr Albert Oppong-Ansah, Ghana News Agency and Inter Press Service, Ghana
  • Mr Samuel Hinneh, SciDev.Net and Daily Dispatch Newspaper, Ghana
  • Ms Sophie Mbugua, Freelance at the Humanitarian, Deutsch Welle (DW), Reuters Thomson Foundation, Radio France International (RFI), News Deeply, AAAS Science, Huffpost,, Mail & Guardian, and the BBC Science in Action, Mongabay, New African, and Shout Africa. Locally by the Daily Nation, the East African and the Star newspaper, Kenya
  • Mr Justus Wanzala, Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC), Kenya
  • Ms Chimwemwe Njoloma, Malawi News Agency, Malawi
  • Ms Shola Lawal, freelance at Mail & Guardian, The New York Times and the Guardian, Nigeria
  • Ms Ayoola Kassim,  Channels Television, Nigeria
  • Ms Lominda Afedraru, Monitor Publications Ltd, Uganda
  • Mr Davis Buyondo, freelance at New Vision and Uganda Radio Network, Uganda
  • Mr Bai Bai Sesay, Independent Observer, Sierra Leone
  • Ms Jenifer Julius Gilla,  The Guardian Limited, Tanzania
  • Ms Violet Nakamba Mengo, Zambia Daily Mail, Zambia
  • Mr Kennedy Nyavaya, NewsDay, The Standard and Zimbabwe Independent, Zimbabwe